DAS 2021 Online Conference is accredited by the
Royal College of Anaesthetists for 10 CPD credits

Preliminary Programme

The final programme will be published soon

DAY 1 04.11.2021

 Stream AStream B
09:00Welcome and introduction
Dr Barry McGuire, DAS President
09:10Keynote address: Professor Tim Cook
10 years since NAP4 – Have we learned our lessons?
09:45Challenging Airways

Robotic head and neck surgery
Professor Vin Paleri
Airway management in Burns
Dr Tim Vorster
Top Airway Gear: New Kits on the block
Dr Imran Ahmad & Dr Kariem El-Boghdadly
10:10Challenges in Airway Management in oral cancers
Professor Sheila Myatra
10:35Break – Poster viewing and trade exhibition
11:15Learning from airway in the ED

UK Perspective
Professor Daniel Horner
US Experience
Professor John Sakles
Debate: Airway fellows make training worse for the rest of us

Dr Tom Lawson (Pro) and Dr Gunjeet Dua (Con)
12:10Airway Training

Mandating airway training
Professor Ellen O’Sullivan
Nasendoscopy clinics for airway teaching
Mr Declan Costello
Meet the experts: Awake Videolaryngoscopy

Professor Cyprian Mendonca
Dr Ross Hofmeyr
Dr Maren Kleine Brueggeney
13:00Lunch - Poster viewing and trade exhibition
14:00Keynote address: Professor Mary Mushambi
How airway management changed throughout my career
14:35International Societies Session

Which VL when?
Dr Maren Kleine Brueggeney (EAMS)
Airway incidents in Australia and New Zealand – a review
Dr Yasmin Endlich (ANZCA SIG)
Difficult Airway in Paediatrics: Approaches for success
Professor Sim Jagannathan (SAM)
Airway data and airway practice

Intubate COVID – Update
Dr Danny Wong
Laryngeal complications of intubation and tracheostomies
Professor Brendan McGrath
DAS Difficult Airway Database
Dr Achuthan Sajayan (Sajay)
16:00Break - Poster viewing and trade exhibition
16:35My airway management plan for…

Upper Airway Obstruction
Dr Imran Ahmad
Lower Airway Obstruction
Dr Guillermo Martinez
Airway Trauma
Dr Fauzia Mir
Meet the experts: Hybrid intubation

Dr Hans Huitink
Professor Richard Cooper

DAY 2 05.11.2021

 Stream AStream B
09:00Debate: Universal airway management guidelines – Do we need them?

Dr Andy Higgs (Pro) and Dr Imran Ahmad (Con)
Oral Presentation Session

Prizes: Best Oral Presentation & Ralph Vaughan Cup
10:00Keynote address: Professor Anil Patel
Oxygenation: The short and long of it
10:30Break - Poster viewing and trade exhibition
11:15Obstetrics: Cases and controversies
in partnership with the Obstetric Anaesthetists’ Association

Dr Nuala Lucas
Dr Chris Elton
Dr Mark Stacey
ITU learning and training
in partnership with the Intensive Care Society

In deep water - Critical care airways beyond the larynx
Dr Linda Jayne Mottram
Airway training of critical care staff
Dan Higgins
12:10Guideline Launch
Management of haematoma after thyroid surgery
Dr Barry McGuire, Dr Kariem El-Boghdadly, Dr Helen Aoife Iliff, Mr Shahab Khan
12:40Lunch - Poster viewing and trade exhibition
13:40Keynote address: Professor Adam Law
Safety of topicalization in an obstructed airway – An evidence search
14:15Human Factors

Airways and Humans: when fans and faeces collide
Professor Peter Brindley
Surviving the emotional impact
Dr Fiona Kelly
The Dragon’s Den for Innovations

A showcase of novel airway concepts with an esteemed panel of airway dignitaries.
Includes the John Smith Award for innovation
15:05Break - Poster viewing and trade exhibition
15:45Virtual Reality in Airway Training
Professor Patrick Schoettker

Bariatric Anaesthesia: Considerations and practice
Dr Claire Nightingale
Dr Alistair McNarry
Professor Iain Moppet
Professor Tim Cook
16:40Together in Newcastle
Dr Iftikhar Parvez
16:45Case-based discussion with international expert panel
Moderator: Dr Alistair McNarry
17:30Prizes and Conclusion

Conference Begins









Platinum Partners

Gold Partners

Contact us

If you have any questions or would like more information on DAS 2021,
enter your details below and we will get back to you as soon as possible.